The 1980s decade saw the expansion of the I-AA level to nearly twice the size though the number of teams fluctuated in the early part of the decade. The 1980s were largely dominated by Georgia Southern who captured 3 titles (and lost in the title game in another) after restarting their program in 1982. They won the 1985 National Championship despite it being just their second season back at a varsity level.

The links below will provide an overview of each season in the 1980s.

1980 Season

1981 Season

1982 Season

1983 Season

1984 Season

1985 Season

1986 Season

1987 Season

1988 Season

1989 Season