1995 I-AA Season

There were only a handful of changes for the 1995 season.

1995 I-AA (FCS) Over I-A (FBS) Victories (7)

  1. Appalachian State @ Wake Forest, 24-22
  2. Boise State @ Utah State, 38-14
  3. Troy @ Louisiana-Monroe, 20-10
  4. UAB @ North Texas, 19-14
  5. Northwestern State @ Louisiana-Monroe, 42-39
  6. Central Florida @ Louisiana-Monroe, 34-14
  7. Youngstown State @ Akron, 24-10

There were no ties between I-A and I-AA teams in the 1995 season.

Playoff Bracket, Notes, and National Champion

The I-AA Playoffs made a small format change for the first time in a decade. The NCAA decided to seed all 16 playoff teams instead of just the top four. They still kept the campus sites through the semifinal round. The title game was played on December 16 at Marshall University Stadium in Huntington, West Virginia for the fourth time.

The home team is listed on the bottom of each matchup in the bracket below while an asterisk (*) denotes the number of overtime periods played if a game went to overtime. Montana (13-2 Overall, 6-1 Big Sky Conference) broke through to win their first national title after defeating Marshall (12-3 Overall, 7-1 Southern Conference) 22-20. It was Marshall’s fourth I-AA title game appearance in the previous five seasons.

Conference Changes

There were no conference changes before the 1995 season.

Team Changes

Only three changes occurred after the 1994 season with one team leaving I-AA and two entering the subdivision. North Texas moved from the Southland Conference to I-A independent status. Hampton left the NCAA Division II Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) to play in the MEAC. Meanwhile, Wofford moved up from NCAA Division II independent to I-AA independent. Jacksonville State was in its third season of transition before becoming eligible in 1996.

TeamOld ConferenceNew Conference
HamptonCIAA (Division II)MEAC (I-AA)
North TexasSouthland (I-AA)I-A Independent
WoffordDivision II IndependentI-AA Independent

1994 Season ———————————————————————————————————————————————————- 1996 Season