1998 Season

Broken clock time: movement did not end for I-AA in the 1998 season though there was slightly less than the previous season.

1998 FCS Over FBS Victories (6)

  1. Northern Iowa @ Eastern Michigan, 13-10
  2. Northwestern State @ Louisiana, 24-22
  3. Youngstown State @ Kent State, 24-10
  4. Eastern Illinois @ Northern Illinois, 24-10
  5. Appalachian State @ Wake Forest, 30-27
  6. William & Mary @ Temple, 45-38

National Champion

Massachusetts (12-3 Overall, 6-2 Atlantic 10 Conference) claimed their first I-AA/FCS National Championship by defeating the top-seeded Georgia Southern Eagles (14-1 Overall, 8-0 Southern Conference) 55-43.

Conference Changes

There were no conference changes in effect for the 1998 season.

Team Changes

Arkansas-Pine Bluff moved up from NAIA into the SWAC per the NCAA Handbook. Sacred Heart moved up from the Division II Eastern Football Conference (EFC) to become a member of the Northeast Conference.

Jacksonville started a new football program and became an I-AA independent. They shuttered the football program in December 2019. Two schools decided to drop football completely: Boston University from the Atlantic 10 Conference and Evansville from the Pioneer Football League. Norfolk State moved into the MEAC from I-AA independent status.

The NCAA has both Alabama A&M and Elon starting I-AA/FCS with the 1999 season. However, a closer inspection of both the Bulldogs and Phoenix showed they had I-AA heavy schedules. As with other teams, neither faced I-A teams in 1998 and do not impact the number of games or upsets.

Playoff Notes

The I-AA playoffs remained the same for the fourth straight season. The NCAA seeded all 16 teams in the playoffs and they also kept campus sites through the semifinals. The National Championship was played on December 19 at Finley Stadium in Chattanooga, Tennessee for the second year in a row.

1997 Season ———————————————————————————————————————————————————- 1999 Season