The first decade of the new millennium ended up with quite a bit of parity akin to the 1980s decade. The 1980s saw 8 different I-AA champions while the 2000 through 2009 seasons saw the same number. In addition, there was only one repeat winner: Appalachian State when they won three straight from 2005 through 2007.

2005 was the final season of the two subdivisions being referred to as I-A and I-AA. Starting with the 2006 season, the NCAA renamed them to Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), respectively.

2000 Season

2001 Season

2002 Season

2003 Season

2004 Season

2005 Season

2006 Season

2007 Season

2008 Season

2009 Season