Big Sky, Pioneer Football League Not Playing Conference Schedules; FCS Playoffs in Peril

The Big Sky Conference and Pioneer Football League have both announced they will not be playing a conference schedule for the 2020 season. As a result, the 2020 FCS Playoffs are in serious jeopardy of not being contested as 50% of the eligible teams have to be playing in the fall for the championship to happen.

The Big Sky announced it would play its conference schedule in spring 2021 but did not explicitly rule out non-conference games occurring in the fall by saying, “Non-conference play for the conference’s football programs is still pending further review.”

Update 8/13/20: The Big Sky will not play any non-conference schedules according to a press release as all fall sports were officially postponed to spring 2021.

A total of 75 games featuring Big Sky teams are listed below with the 52 conference games scheduled for the fall now postponed until the spring. The non-conference matchups are marked with an asterisk.

8/29*UC DavisNevada
9/5*Cal PolyLouisiana-Monroe
9/5*Dixie StateSouthern Utah
9/5*Idaho StateFresno State
9/5*Sacramento StateSan Diego State
9/5*Weber StateWyoming
9/12*MontanaMissouri State
9/12*South DakotaNorthern Arizona
9/12*Northern ColoradoMcNeese
9/12*Northern IowaIdaho State
9/12*Southern UtahUtah State
9/12*UC DavisSan Jose State
9/12*Western IllinoisEastern Washington
9/19*Dixie StateMontana State
9/19*Northern ArizonaEastern Washington
9/19*Northern ColoradoColorado State
9/19Southern UtahSacramento State
9/19*Weber StateNorthern Iowa
9/19*Idaho StateNew Mexico
9/26Cal PolyMontana
9/26Eastern WashingtonSouthern Utah
9/26Montana StatePortland State
9/26Northern ArizonaNorthern Colorado
9/26Sacramento StateIdaho State
9/26UC DavisWeber State
10/3*Dixie StateSacramento State
10/3IdahoUC Davis
10/3Idaho StateNorthern Arizona
10/3MontanaEastern Washington
10/3Northern ColoradoMontana State
10/3Portland StateSouthern Utah
10/3Weber StateCal Poly
10/10Cal PolyMontana State
10/10*Dixie StateWeber State
10/10Eastern WashingtonNorthern Colorado
10/10Portland StateIdaho
10/10UC DavisIdaho State
10/17IdahoEastern Washington
10/17Idaho StatePortland State
10/17Montana StateWeber State
10/17Northern ColoradoUC Davis
10/17Sacramento StateMontana
10/17Southern UtahNorthern Arizona
10/24Idaho StateMontana State
10/24*North DakotaPortland State
10/24Northern ArizonaSacramento State
10/24Northern ColoradoSouthern Utah
10/24UC DavisCal Poly
10/24Weber StateEastern Washington
10/31Cal PolyPortland State
10/31Eastern WashingtonUC Davis
10/31Northern ArizonaIdaho
10/31Sacramento StateNorthern Colorado
10/31Southern UtahMontana
10/31Weber StateIdaho State
11/7Cal PolySacramento State
11/7MontanaNorthern Colorado
11/7Montana StateEastern Washington
11/7Portland StateWeber State
11/7Southern UtahIdaho
11/7UC DavisNorthern Arizona
11/14IdahoMontana State
11/14Idaho StateCal Poly
11/14MontanaNorthern Arizona
11/14Portland StateSacramento State
11/14Weber StateSouthern Utah
11/20Eastern WashingtonPortland State
11/21IdahoIdaho State
11/21Montana StateMontana
11/21Northern ArizonaCal Poly
11/21Northern ColoradoWeber State
11/21Sacramento StateUC Davis
11/21*Southern UtahAbilene Christian

Meanwhile, the Pioneer Football League had previously canceled its non-conference schedule last month. Friday’s decision wipes out the remaining 36 games, which are listed below.

9/12MaristMorehead State
9/26San DiegoValparaiso
10/3ButlerSan Diego
10/3Morehead StateDavidson
10/10San DiegoMorehead State
10/17StetsonSan Diego
10/17DrakeMorehead State
10/24Morehead StateStetson
10/24DaytonSan Diego
10/31San DiegoDrake
11/7DavidsonSan Diego
11/7Morehead StateButler
11/14Morehead StateDayton
11/14San DiegoMarist
11/21ValparaisoMorehead State

The number of games canceled involving FCS teams now stands at over 500 for the 2020 season.

Photo courtesy of UC Davis Athletics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.